Health Links

Allergies and Asthma
American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology: www.aaaai.org
American Lung Association: www.lungusa.org
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute: www.nhlbi.nih.gov
National Institute for Allergy and Infectious Diseases: www.niaid.nih.gov
US Food and Drug Administration: www.fda.gov

Cancer

American Cancer Society: www.cancer.org
Cancer Information: www.cancer.gov/cancertopics
Cancer Research Foundation of America: www.cancer.gov
Cancervive (For Cancer Survivors): www.cancervive.org
Breast Cancer: www.breasthealth.com
Breast Care Center: www.breastcarecenter.com
Susan Komen Foundation: www.komen.org

Child and Adolescent Health
Kids Health: www.kidshealth.com
Safe Kids: www.safekids.org
Keep Kids Healthy: www.keepkidshealthy.com
American Academy of Pediatrics: www.aap.org
Bright Futures: www.brightfutures.org
Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids: www.tobaccofreekids.org
Children with Diabetes: www.childrenwithdiabetes.com

Chronic Conditions
Arthritis Foundation: www.arthritis.org
Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America: www.aafa.org
Endometriosis Association: www.endo-online.org
The National Sleep Foundation: www.sleepfoundation.org

Diabetes
American Diabetes Association: www.diabetes.org
Juvenile Diabetes Foundation International: www.jdf.org
Children with Diabetes: www.childrenwithdiabetes.com
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disease: www.niddk.nih.gov

Fitness
President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports: www.fitness.gov
American Council on Exercise: www.acefitness.org
50 Plus Fitness Association: www.50plus.org
Project Fit America: www.projectfitamerica.org

Health & Medicine
The Mayo Clinic - http://www.mayoclinic.com/
Web MD - http://my.webmd.com/webmd_today/home/default.htm
Yahoo Health - http://dir.yahoo.com/Health
Medline Plus - http://www.medlineplus.gov/

Heart Disease and Stroke
American College of Cardiology: www.acc.org
American Heart Association: www.americanheart.org
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute: www.nhlbi.nih.gov/index.htm
Research Center for Stroke and Heart Disease: www.strokeheart.org
National Cholesterol Education Program: www.nhlbi.nih.gov/about/ncep

In the News
The State - http://www.thestate.com/health
CNN Health - http://www.cnn.com/HEALTH
Reuters Medical News - http://www.reutershealth.com/
Medical News Today - http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/

Men's Health
CDC Health Topic: Men's Health: www.cdc.gov/
Men's Health Network: www.menshealthnetwork.org
National Prostate Cancer Coalition: www.4npcc.org

Mental Health
Mental Health InfoSource: www.mhsource.com
National Institute of Mental Health: www.nimh.nih.gov
National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice: www.ncmhjj.com
National Mental Health Association: www.nmha.org
National Mental Health Information Center: www.mentalhealth.org

Nutrition and Obesity
Aim for a Healthy Weight: www.nhlbi.nih.gov/
CDC Health Topics: Nutrition: www.cdc.gov
NEW Food Guide Pyramid: www.mypyramid.gov
Dietary Guidelines for Americans: www.health.gov/dietaryguidelines
American Dietetic Association: www.eatright.org
Food and Drug Administration: www.fda.gov
Mayo Health Clinic: www.mayoclinic.com
Nutrition.gov: www.nutrition.gov

Pharmacy
American Pharmaceutical Association: www.aphanet.org
Food and Drug Administration: www.fda.gov/cder
MEDLINEplus: Drug Information: www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginformation.html

Pregnancy and Birth
American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology: www.abog.org
March of Dimes: www.marchofdimes.com
Healthy Pregnancy: www.4woman.gov/pregnancy
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development: www.nichd.nih.gov
La Leche: www.lalecheleague.org
MEDLINEplus: Childbirth: www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/childbirth.html

Pulmonary Disorders
American Cancer Society: www.cancer.org
American Lung Association: www.lungusa.org
National Cancer Institute: www.nci.nih.gov
National Heart, Lung, Blood Institute: www.nhlbi.nih.gov/index.htm

Senior Health
National Institutes of Health: www.nihseniorhealth.gov
National Institute on Aging: www.nia.nih.gov
National Council on Aging: www.ncoa.org
Alzheimers: www.alz.org

South Carolina DHEC
The Hospital Infections Disclosure Act (HIDA) requires that each hospital submit its first report of hospital acquired infections to DHEC, through the CDC, no later than February 1, 2008. HIDA also requires that these reports must be made available to the public at each hospital and through DHEC. The February 1, 2008 hospital infections report, and all subsequent reports, will be posted on the DHEC web site, www.scdhec.gov
Click on the following link for more information: http://www.scdhec.gov/

Substance Abuse
Alcoholics Anonymous: www.aa.org
Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids: www.tobaccofreekids.org
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention: www.prevention.samhsa.gov
Partnership for a Drug Free America: www.drugfree.org
American Council on Alcoholism: www.aca-usa.org
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism: www.niaaa.nih.gov

Women's Health
CDC Health Topic: Women's Health: www.cdc.gov/health/womensmenu.htm
CDC's WISEWOMAN: www.cdc.gov/wisewoman
MEDLINEplus: Women's Health: www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/womenshealth.html
National Women's Health Information Center: www.4woman.gov

Other
The New England Journal of Medicine - http://www.nejm.org/
Center for Disease Control - http://www.cdc.gov/
American Medical Association - http://www.ama-assn.org/
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations - http://www.jcaho.org/
National Organization of Rare Disorders - http://www.rarediseases.org/
Administration on Aging - http://www.aoa.dhhs.gov/

Loris Healthcare System
3655 Mitchell St., Box 690001
Loris, SC 29569-9601
Phone: (843) 716-7000
wparker@lorishealth.org


Loris Healthcare System | Privacy  | Site Map